Oops! I got a Journalism degree- PW Blog #2

It’s beginning to hit me that I’m a senior in college. It’s beginning to hit me that this journey of my life is about to end, and I need to make some very important decisions! That’s what my advisor, teachers, and parents tell me anyways. To be honest, I don’t want to graduate any time soon because I have no idea what I’m going to do once I do graduate. I have no idea academically anyways. I’d love to graduate, get married, have babies, and travel. I’d love to never have a job. But I know these hopes and wishes are not realistic and I should apply myself.

Right now I’m just trying to figure out where I’ll apply myself to.

I’ve always loved to write and that’s all I ever felt like I was good at in high school. Even in college, I’m not embarrassed to admit that I had to take college algebra twice. Seriously, math is like another language to me. So I came to Oklahoma State and majored in Journalism. I still love to write but it’s not a secret that the world of writing is slowly dying. Which has led to me doubting my future plans.

The first time I saw How to Loose a Guy in 10 Days, I knew I wanted to be just like her character in the movie. Kate Hudson plays a magazine columnist for a fashion magazine in NYC. She writes about fashion, men, love, makeup, etc. I’ve always wanted to be that and I haven’t really thought about back up plans until now.

It’s hitting me that most likely I won’t graduate and immediately get a a job at a magazine like Elle, or Cosmopolitan. I’ll have to work my way up and maybe work a PR or advertising job first. Or worse, be an intern. Which everyone knows ‘intern’ is code for “Coffee Girl.”

So now that I’m on the downhill slope of college, I need to make some big decisions. Do I still want to pursue a writing career? Or maybe I should look elsewhere? Or MAYBE, just maybe, I’ll luck out and marry rich.

A girl can dream, right?

Leave a Reply

