PW Blog #8- Tricks to Losing Weight

I know what you’re probably thinking. This girl doesn’t know anything more than the rest of the bloggers that write about exercise, or the mini workouts on Pinterest, or the articles inside Women’s Health. I was just talking with a friend today that I wished I had more time for the gym. We are busy college students and part-time workers. Sometimes, the only time I have for the gym is bright and early in the morning before classes. Girls, I’m sure you’re the same as me but isn’t it so hard to wake up early? It’s cold outside. The last thing I feel like doing is climbing out of my warm bed, into my freezing car and driving across town to the gym. When I tough it out and go, it is so worth it though. I feel refreshed, focused, and ready to take on my day!

I wanted to share some of my tricks to staying in shape that I hope will fit into your busy schedules. When I wake up in the morning, even if I’m rushed, I always eat breakfast. “This is the most important meal of the day.” We’ve all heard this so many times, because it’s true! Much like going to the gym, eating breakfast makes you feel focused and ready for the day. If you don’t have time for a sit down breakfast, at least grab a banana or a granola bar on your way out the door. I’m a big fan of any high fiber cereal bar.

When class and work schedules are different every day, it’s hard to eat lunch and dinner at the same time every day. Just make sure you eat. In the past, I was very bad at skipping lunch because I was ‘too busy to eat’ and then eating fast food or a small snack in the late afternoon. This would hold me over for a few hours, but then I w0uld feel weak at work that night. Now I like to keep the kitchen stocked with quick and easy meals. If I only have 10 minutes in between classes and getting ready for work that night, I can pop a Lean Cuisine into the microwave or make a tuna salad. This saves money, and it’s healthy! I usually eat the same for dinner. If I go out to eat, I just order what I want. I personally hate going out to eat with those people that say “I’m on a diet. I’ll just have the lemon that’s in my water.”

I’ve learned over my college years that I succeed in staying in shape when I’m NOT on a diet. I’ve tried so many ‘diets’ to lose 5 pounds, and they just don’t work. When I’m on a diet, I’m tired, hungry, and cranky.  After starving myself for a week, I just pig out on everything I’ve been craving. If you want a cupcake, eat a cupcake. Don’t make yourself feel bad about it. Just don’t eat a cupcake every single day.

Make a list of goals to stay in shape this holiday season. Here’s mine:

1. Hit the gym 3 times a week.

2. Eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day.

3. Avoid soda. Drink clear drinks. Avoid beer.

4. Get plenty of sleep.

5. Smile. Positive girls are the prettiest girls.

Leave a Reply

