PW Blog #9- What He Thinks About Your Place

I’m a frugal spender. I don’t like to blow money but I spend $4.99 on Cosmopolitan every single month, and I’d probably spend more if the price ever went up. I was reading an article the other day about a guys first impression of a girls’ house. Guest columnist, Joe Jonas, yes, one of the Jonas brothers gave some advice. I changed some stuff around in my house. It didn’t cost very much and it was all simple redecorating.

First, I went to my DVD collection. I put all my chick flicks like Mean Girls and The Notebook towards the back of my shelf. A good boyfriend will watch a chick flick with his girl every once in a while, but he’s going to spend more hours cuddled up on the couch with you if the first movies he sees are boyfriend friendly. Pull your Will Ferrell collection to the top shelf.

Next, tune down the pink and purple all over the house. Your bedroom is your personal space, so if pink is your thing; go crazy. Keep in mind that the rest of your house is a space you’ll be sharing with him though.

Keep it clean! If you aren’t a neat freak, maybe you should work on becoming one. This is one area that I need to work on. I’m that girl that will try on 10 different outfits and just throw them on the bed until I feel like hanging the clothes back up. If you don’t take care of your place, he’ll think you don’t take care of yourself.

Most likely, he’s also going to take a look inside your fridge. Guys are always hungry, and they are going to expect you to feed them. If your guy likes to cook, then keep a lot of fresh ingredients around so the two of you can have some fun together in the kitchen. If he stays over a lot, then keep some of his favorite snacks around the house!

Let me know if you have any other boyfriend friendly decorating tips!

Leave a Reply

